Hiroshima Micromachine Seminar

Hiroshima Micromachine Seminar was held in the afternoon of February 8, 2002 at AIST Chugoku of National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST) in Kure City. It was organized by Micromachine Center, co-organized by AIST Chugoku and Chugoku Technology Promotion Center (CTPC), and supported by Kure Area Industrial Promotion Center.

At this seminar, Mr. Takayuki Hirano, Executive Director of MMC, made a speech dealing with the "MMC's Activities"; Mr. Yuich Ishikawa, Principal Research Scientist of AIST, spoke regarding the "Characteristics of Micromachine Technology"; Koji Yada, General manager of MMC's research department, presented an "Overview of Results in Micromachine Project".

In addition, as part of the introduction to the research results of the members companies, Mr. Eiichi Yonezawa of Corporate R&D Center Material Science and Technology Laboratory, Fuji Electric Co., Ltd., presented a speech about "Two-Dimentional Micro-Conveyor", and Mr. Teruhisa Akashi of Engineering Research Laboratory, Hitachi, Ltd., spoke regarding "Micro Device Using Silicon Anisotropic Wet Etching". Then Mr. Kazunori Okada of Harima Research Laboratories, SUMITOMO ELECTRIC INDUSTRIES, Ltd., presented a speech dealing with "LIGA Micromachining Technology Using SR(synchrotron radiation)", and Mr. Ryo Ohta of R&D Center, OLYMPUS OPTICAL CO. LTD., dealt with "Research on Multifunctional Integration Film Technology".

During the interval, Mr. Ryo Ohta and Mr. Teruhisa Akashi conducted a presentation of a 1mmøSMA micro actuator (OLYMPUS OPTICAL CO. LTD.) and a microfluid operating device (Hitachi, Ltd.) - two portable exhibits of micromachine technology which had been brought to the seminar. Accordingly, this provided an excellent opportunity for the attendants to become more familiar with micromachine technologies.

With a total of 45 people present - 21 individuals from 16 companies in Hiroshima prefecture, and another 24 individuals from universities, research centers, public organizations and the like - the seminar was both well and of considerable significance.

Eighth Micromachine Drawing Contest Award Ceremony

The Micromachine Center (MMC)-sponsored Micromachine Drawing Contest for elementary and junior high school students was held this year for the eighth time. The contest was conducted with the cooperation of MMC's supporting members AISIN COSMOS R&D CO., LTD., FANUC LTD., and Fujikura Ltd. as well as the schools that participated in the Fifth Micromachine Drawing Contest.

This year's contest attracted a total of 1,984 entries (957 entries in the elementary school category and 1,027 entries in the junior high school category) submitted by students from the following 17 elementary schools and 10 junior high schools.

Participating Schools

Elementary Schools: Arai Municipal Elementary School (Tak Hyogo Prefectu Iho Minami Municipal Elementary School (Takasago, Hyogo Pr Iho Municipal Elementary School (Takasago, Hyogo Prefecture) Kitahama Municipal Elementary School o. Hvoao Takasago Municipal Elementary School Nishino-Cho Municipal Elementary School (Nich o. Aichi Prefe Oshino Municipal Elementary School Higashi-Kakio Municipal Elementary School va Prefecture Kazuya Municipal Elementary School (Koto-ku, Tokyo)

Koganei Elementary School attached to Tokyo Gakugei University (Tokvo) Mihama-Kita Municipal Elementary School u. Chiba Prefecture) Igusa Municipal Elementary School na Prefecture Kasumigaseki-Minami Elementary School noe Saitama Prefecture Omiya-Minami Elementary School (S na, Saitama Prefecture) Numasaki Municipal Elementary School i. Ibi Ninomiya Municipal Elementary School (Tsukuba, Ibaraki Prefecture) Mase Municipal Elementary School (Tsukuba, Ibaraki Prefecture

3



(* School prize awarded)

A selection committee headed by Dr. Hirofumi Miura (professor, Kogakuin University) chose 15 drawings each from the elementary and junior high school categories. The prizewinning drawings are shown on the following pages. The award ceremony was held on March 26, 2002 at the Science Museum, Tokyo (Kitanomaru Park, Tokyo). The approximately 50 attendees included the winners of the Grand Prize and First Prize in both the elementary and junior high school categories, parents and relatives of the prizewinners, staff of the participating schools, guests, and members of the selection committee.

During the award ceremony, Mr. Kenichiro Yoshida, deputy director of the Manufacturing Industries Bureau, METI, addressed the audience and selection committee chairman and Kogakuin University Professor, Dr. Hirofumi Miura, explained the selection process and commented on the work submitted. This was followed by a few words from the Grand Prize winner in the elementary school category, Shihori Matsukura (a 6th grader at Numasaki Municipal Elementary School, Tsukuba, Ibaraki Prefecture) and the Grand Prize winner in the junior high school category, Kaoru Tanaka (a 2nd year student at Kariya-Minami Municipal Junior High School, Kariya, Aichi Prefecture).

